Alberta Supra Club  

All Albums / Galleries Timeslip Database
Go Back   Alberta Supra Club >  General Discussion > General chat

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Unread 10-24-2014, 01:32 PM   #1
YYCSupra
Senior Member
 
YYCSupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 242
Gauges below aftermarket radio options

Hi guys, anyone have a picture of this setup on a mk3 supra. I know I've seen one before, but I can't seem for the life of me to find it again. I don't think anyone sells them, but they can be custom made. Just my personal preference, but I'd rather have my gauges there then on the A-pillar.
Thanks!
__________________
1987 Toyota Supra, Pearl White, Turbo, Targa w/ Burgundy Leather
1990 Toyota Supra, Black w/ Burgundy Pearl, Turbo, Targa w/ Grey Leather
1991 Toyota Supra 1JZ Red w/ Grey Interior
YYCSupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-24-2014, 01:42 PM   #2
YYCSupra
Senior Member
 
YYCSupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 242
Wonder if this one would work. The type B fits 3 46mm gauges in a single DIN...http://www.mvpmotorsports.com/Templa...ubFolderId=922
__________________
1987 Toyota Supra, Pearl White, Turbo, Targa w/ Burgundy Leather
1990 Toyota Supra, Black w/ Burgundy Pearl, Turbo, Targa w/ Grey Leather
1991 Toyota Supra 1JZ Red w/ Grey Interior
YYCSupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-24-2014, 10:06 PM   #3
Franco
Administrator
 
Franco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,224
I like it, you don't see many 46mm gauges though.
And I wouldn't put any crutial gauges there as you won't be able to glance at them while driving. Would be perfect for water/oil temp gauges or something like that.
__________________
Franco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-26-2014, 12:26 AM   #4
YYCSupra
Senior Member
 
YYCSupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 242
Hmmm...I might have to reconsider the A-pillar. I just like to keep it as close to OEM as possible. I saw some good digital dual readout gauges, but they are 52mm I think.
__________________
1987 Toyota Supra, Pearl White, Turbo, Targa w/ Burgundy Leather
1990 Toyota Supra, Black w/ Burgundy Pearl, Turbo, Targa w/ Grey Leather
1991 Toyota Supra 1JZ Red w/ Grey Interior
YYCSupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-26-2014, 08:31 AM   #5
Grandavi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SE Calgary
Posts: 1,823
Send a message via MSN to Grandavi Send a message via Skype™ to Grandavi
Personally I don't like gauges where you have to look down. I like ones I can see while looking at the road.
Grandavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-04-2014, 10:14 AM   #6
YYCSupra
Senior Member
 
YYCSupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 242
Found a single DIN panel that is a 3 gauge holder (52mm). I tried finding someone who has used it in a supra and didn't have much luck finding one. I think it might require some dash cutting maybe...hmmm.
http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/Unive...Gauge-Pod.aspx
__________________
1987 Toyota Supra, Pearl White, Turbo, Targa w/ Burgundy Leather
1990 Toyota Supra, Black w/ Burgundy Pearl, Turbo, Targa w/ Grey Leather
1991 Toyota Supra 1JZ Red w/ Grey Interior
YYCSupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2014, 01:06 PM   #7
85mkii
Senior Member
 
85mkii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 246
Hi I know your gen supra is different but here is a link on my set up.
http://supraclub.ca/forums/showthread.php?t=3955&page=5

My guage setup is mainly for show. I don't drive my car hard and therefor have no need to see the guages while driving and some are duplicates of ones already in the cluster. I will be getting rid of the silly AFR guage and find a temp one to match instead.
85mkii is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2014, 05:11 PM   #8
YYCSupra
Senior Member
 
YYCSupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by 85mkii View Post
Hi I know your gen supra is different but here is a link on my set up.
http://supraclub.ca/forums/showthread.php?t=3955&page=5

My guage setup is mainly for show. I don't drive my car hard and therefor have no need to see the guages while driving and some are duplicates of ones already in the cluster. I will be getting rid of the silly AFR guage and find a temp one to match instead.
Thanks for the link. I was looking at your build thread previously. Very, very impressive (not to mention envious of your skills)!

I'd love to have my gauges be higher up on the central part of the dash, but that is likely not going to be possible unless I can relocate my climate control (without it looking crappy). I will probably end up doing an A-Pillar one, but will see. I suppose I could try the single DIN one first and then see how I like it. I only really want the gauges for diagnosis if something were to start acting up.
__________________
1987 Toyota Supra, Pearl White, Turbo, Targa w/ Burgundy Leather
1990 Toyota Supra, Black w/ Burgundy Pearl, Turbo, Targa w/ Grey Leather
1991 Toyota Supra 1JZ Red w/ Grey Interior
YYCSupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-2018, 03:12 PM   #9
YYCSupra
Senior Member
 
YYCSupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by YYCSupra View Post
Found a single DIN panel that is a 3 gauge holder (52mm). I tried finding someone who has used it in a supra and didn't have much luck finding one. I think it might require some dash cutting maybe...hmmm.
http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/Unive...Gauge-Pod.aspx
I ended up buying this gauge cluster unit and it was NFG. It didn't even come close to fitting.

Thought I'd update incase anyone else was going to try it.

I ended up going with a gauge pod that fits in the Ashtray area. Trying it out, but might go with A-Pillar eventually.

__________________
1987 Toyota Supra, Pearl White, Turbo, Targa w/ Burgundy Leather
1990 Toyota Supra, Black w/ Burgundy Pearl, Turbo, Targa w/ Grey Leather
1991 Toyota Supra 1JZ Red w/ Grey Interior
YYCSupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-06-2018, 03:55 PM   #10
Dan_Gyoba
Senior Member
 
Dan_Gyoba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 3,770
Send a message via ICQ to Dan_Gyoba Send a message via Yahoo to Dan_Gyoba Send a message via Skype™ to Dan_Gyoba
Ashtray location isn't bad at all. I have about 3/4 of the design done to make something like this with a 3D printer, but I only needed the one, and ended up jamming it in the lighter socket.
__________________
In theory, there's no difference between theory and practice, but in practice, there is.

'89NA-T, 499,XXX kms
Part-out in process, RIP

'90T, 289,XXX kms
What I need to fix:
Stereo construction needed.
7M-GTE needs to be broken in
Should install Walbro fuel pump

eBay F1 clutch pics.
NA-T engine swap pics
Driftmotion Action Stage 3 clutch pics
Dan_Gyoba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.